2019 Candidate Questionnaire Responses

Back to archive

Congratulations to the Winners of Denver’s Run-off Elections

Thank you for voting, Denver!

On June 3, Denver voters cast ballots to choose the mayor, Council District 1, Council District 3, Council District 5, Council District 9, and Council District 10. That followed already-determined races for Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, 11 and At-Large. The winners are listed below; their names link to their responses in our preservation-focused candidate questionnaire.

Though Historic Denver doesn’t endorse candidates, we take our responsibility to educate candidates about issues that affect historic preservation very seriously. In turn, we are committed to communicating their positions on these issues to our members and stakeholders. We will continue to keep the candidates’ responses to our questionnaire on this webpage for future reference.

Click on the following elected officials to see a PDF with their responses to our 2019 candidate questionnaire:

Michael B. Hancock

District 1
Amanda Sandoval

District 2
Kevin Flynn

District 3
Jamie Torres

District 4
Kendra Black

District 5
Amanda Sawyer

District 6
Paul Kashmann

District 8
Chris Herndon

District 9
Candi CdeBaca

District 10
Chris Hinds

District 11
Stacie Gilmore

Robin Kniech
Debbie Ortega

*Historic Denver does not endorse any candidates. We are committed to encouraging a fair and transparent election.

On May 7 Denver voters cast ballots to choose 13 city council members, a mayor, an auditor, and a city clerk and
recorder to serve for the next four years. While the outcomes of some races were clearly determined with candidates securing more than 50% of the votes, other races will be determined in a June 3 run-off between the top two vote-recipients. Run-offs will be held for the Mayor, Council District 1, Council District 3, Council District 5, Council District 9 and Council District 10.

The stakes are high in these municipal elections because our elected officials have extraordinary power in establishing a
vision, setting policy, appointing people to regulatory boards and commissions, making zoning and land use decisions, and
allocating resources. Issues around growth, development and changing neighborhoods will be front and center. This election cycle offers a big opportunity to raise awareness of historic preservation in Denver’s cultural, economic development and quality of life conversations.

Which Council District Do I Live In?

Enter your home address to determine your Denver council district.

Loretto Heights Main Campus